What protected classes was added in 1988?

The protected classes of handicap and familial status were added in 1988. The seven protected classes became race, color, religion, national origin, sex, handicap and familial status.

What did the 1988 Fair Housing Amendments Act do?

The Fair Housing Amendments Act (FHAA) was signed into law on September 13, 1988 and became effective on March 12, 1989. The Act amended Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex or national origin in housing sales, rentals or financing.

Which protected class was recognized with the passage of the 1988 Fair Housing Amendments Act?

The Fair Housing Act, as amended in 1988, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, colour, religion, sex, disability, family status, and national origin.

IMPORTANT:  Can I delete McAfee WebAdvisor log file?

What was added to the Fair Housing Act?

The 1968 Act expanded on previous acts and prohibited discrimination concerning the sale, rental, and financing of housing based on race, religion, national origin, sex, (and as amended) handicap and family status. Title VIII of the Act is also known as the Fair Housing Act (of 1968).

What are the 7 protected classes for fair housing?

The federal Fair Housing Act prohibits the denial of housing to a person based on the person’s membership in one or more of the classes protected under the Act. The protected classes are race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, and disability.

What depicts the fair lending laws?

The nonminority couple was granted a loan. A minority couple applied for a similar loan with the same lender.

Which protected class was added to the Housing and Community Development Act of 1974?

Originally, the Fair Housing Act was a piece of civil rights legislation. As such, its goal was to protect individuals from discrimination on the basis of color, ethnicity, religion, and race. In 1974, the Housing and Community Development Act expanded the protected class to include gender.

Which of the following classes is not protected under federal fair housing laws?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws.

Who is protected by the Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Act protects people from discrimination when they are renting or buying a home, getting a mortgage, seeking housing assistance, or engaging in other housing-related activities. Additional protections apply to federally-assisted housing.

IMPORTANT:  What are the secure and unsecure file transfer protocols?

When was disability added to the Fair Housing Act?

When originally passed in 1968, the Fair Housing Act only covered four protective classes: race, color, religion, and national origin. Sex was added as a protective class in 1974. In 1988, disability and familial status were included as protective classes as well.

Which two protected classes did the Fair Housing Amendments of 1988 add to federal fair housing laws?

In 1974, the Fair Housing Act was amended to prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex. In 1988, another amendment added the disabled and families with children to the list of protected classes.

What protected class was added by the 1974 amendment to the Fair Housing Act?

Summary: Section 109 of the HCD Act of 1974, Title I, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age, religion, and sex within Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) programs or activities.

When did familial status became a protected class?

When Did Familial Status Become Protected? The Federal Fair Housing Act was created in 1968. However, families were not initially a protected class under this act. Familial status did not become a protected class under the Act until 1988, 20 years after the Act was first created.

What are the seven protected classes?

There are seven protected classes in the Act. Housing discrimination is prohibited based on: race; national origin; sex; religion; color; disability; and familial status.

What are the 11 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.
IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: How do I turn off Protected Mode in Windows 10?

What races are considered protected class?

Everyone is protected from race and color discrimination Whites, Blacks, Asians, Latinos, Arabs, American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians, Pacific Islanders, persons of more than one race, and all other persons, whatever their race, color, or ethnicity.