What is protected area network Upsc?

In simplest terms, protected areas are regions or zones of land or sea which are given certain levels of protection for conservation of biodiversity and socio-environmental values. In these areas, human intervention and exploitation of resources is limited.

What is a protected area network?

The term “protected area” also includes Marine Protected Areas, the boundaries of which will include some area of ocean, and Trans boundary Protected Areas that overlap multiple countries which remove the borders inside the area for conservation and economic purposes. …

What is protected area Upsc?

Protected areas are those in which human occupation or at least the exploitation of resources is limited.

What is protected area network in India?

India has a network of 981 Protected Areas including 104 National Parks, 566 Wildlife Sanctuaries, 97 Conservation Reserves and 214 Community Reserves covering a total of 1,71,921 km2 of geographical area of the country which is approximately 5.03%.

What are the different types of protected areas?

India has the following kinds of protected areas, in the sense of the word designated by IUCN:

  • National parks.
  • Wildlife sanctuaries.
  • Biosphere reserves.
  • Reserved and protected forests.
  • Conservation reserves and community reserves.
  • Private protected areas.
  • Conservation areas.
IMPORTANT:  Do National Guard get VA benefits?

Why do we need protected areas?

Protected areas play a large role in protecting important natural ecosystems and providing essential ecosystem services such as carbon storage and flood prevention. … Protected areas had the highest levels of mammal biodiversity.

What are protected areas Class 8?

Wildlife sanctuaries, National parks and Biosphere are the three types of protected area which have been earmarked for the conservation of forest and wildlife.

WHO issues Protected Area Permit?

The PAP is issued by the Ministry of Home Affairs. However, the different authorities of the concerned Indian states can also issue the PAP, and also the Indian missions abroad.

How many MPA are in India?

There are a total of 31 Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) in India, primarily in marine environment, which cover a total area of 6271.2 km2 with an average size of 202.1 km2. East coast and Andaman & Nicobar Islands have adequate areas in the MPAs whereas west coast and Lakshadweep Islands have poor representation.

WHO declares marine protected area?

As one of the 17 mega-biodiverse countries of the world, it faces unique challenges in protecting its biodiversity. Marine Protected Areas in India are the area defined under IUCN Guidelines. They limit anthropogenic activities and exploitation of resources in these areas.

WHO declares protected areas in India?

The central government, if satisfied with the conditions of the specified area, can declare it as a sanctuary or a national park by the notification. The central government has the power to declare sanctuaries or national parks if the government is satisfied by the conditions which are given in section 35.

IMPORTANT:  How do I completely remove antivirus?

Which state has full protected area?

Protected Areas in India

Currently, Madhya Pradesh and Andaman and Nicobar islands have maximum numbers of national parks (nine each); followed by Kerala, Maharashtra and Uttarakhand and West Bengal (six each).

Which state has highest protected area in India?

During the measured time period, the protected forest area in the state of Himachal Pradesh was the largest and amounted to approximately 33,000 square kilometers, while Madhya Pradesh was second with about 31,000 square kilometers.

What comes under protected area?

There are 4 categories of the Protected Areas viz, National Parks, Sanctuaries, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves.

How many protected areas are there?

Protected Areas of India

Year No. of National Parks No. of Protected Areas
2017 103 769
2018 104 771
2019 101 903
2020 104 981

How much of India’s total geographic area is covered as protected areas?

Minister for Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Shri Prakash Javadekar today released Management Effectiveness Evaluation (MEE) of 146 National Park and Wildlife Sanctuaries in the Country.At present, India has a network of 903 Protected Areas in the country covering about 5% of the total geographic area of the …