What is not a protected class under Fair Housing Act?

Race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status, national origin. Although some interest groups have tried to lobby to include sexual orientation and marital status, these aren’t protected classes under the federal law, but are sometimes protected by certain local state fair housing laws.

What is a protected class under the Fair Housing Act?

The federal Fair Housing Act prohibits the denial of housing to a person based on the person’s membership in one or more of the classes protected under the Act. The protected classes are race, color, religion, national origin, sex, familial status, and disability.

Which group is not considered a protected class under the 1968 Fair Housing Act?

The law added gender by inserting the protected class of “sex” to the wording of the 1968 Civil Rights Act. By the end of that year the protected classes were race, color, religion, national origin and sex. … Age, marital status, or sexual preference, are not protected classes under Federal Fair Housing!

IMPORTANT:  Frequent question: Is Avast worth using?

Which of the following is an exception to the Fair Housing Act?

Yes, there are several important exceptions to the Fair Housing Act, including: Single family homes, so long as: the home is also sold or rented by the owner; … the advertising for the rental or property for sale was not discriminatory; and.

Who is not protected under familial status?

What does “familial status” mean? Familial status means the makeup of your family. The FHA prohibits discrimination on this basis including: children under the age of 18 living with parents/guardians, pregnant women, and people seeking custody of children under 18.

What are the 7 protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.

How many protected classes are there?

According to federal law, especially since the enactment of the Civil Rights Act in 1964, there are 10 classes or categories of people that are legally protected from discrimination.

Which is not a protected class in California?

religion. sex (including pregnancy, childbirth, and related medical conditions) disability: Physical or mental. age (40 and older)

How many protected classes does the Fair Housing Act identify?

To briefly review, the federal Fair Housing Act (FHA) has seven protected classes, which include: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status.

Who would not be protected under the protected class referred to as familial status quizlet?

Who would not be protected under the protected class referred to as “familial status”? A parent with a 24- year old son. What are persons called who pose as customers to check on fair housing compliance? Which of these is not an exemption to fair housing law?

IMPORTANT:  Do you need Norton with Windows Defender?

Which of the following is exempt under the federal Fair Housing Act of 1968?

Single-family housing: The sale or rental of a single-family house is exempted from the rules of the Fair Housing Act if the owner doesn’t own more than three units at one time, and neither a broker nor discriminatory advertising is used.

Are widows a protected class?

As far as familial status protection is concerned under the FHA, it makes no difference if the adult members of the family are married, divorced, single, widowed, or separated.

Which of the following is not allowed under federal fair housing law?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin. Among other things, this forbids sexual harassment.

Are families a protected class?

Families are one group that is protected from housing discrimination under this Act. Learn how Fair Housing defines a family, the actions that are considered discrimination, and a family’s rights if they feel they are being discriminated against.