What is a DSO safeguarding?

Every organisation that works with children needs to have someone that takes the lead on safeguarding and child protection. We refer to them as a nominated child protection lead but they may also be known as: Designated Safeguarding Officer (DSO) … “Named person” for child protection. Child protection officer.

What is the role of a designated safeguarding officer?

A designated Safeguarding Officer is the person who has the duty to ensure a company’s safeguarding policy is followed by all members of staff in the setting.

What is a designated protection officer?

The Designated Safeguarding Officer are the first point of contact for all staff and volunteers to go to for advice if they are concerned about a child (this may also need to be out of hours so staff and volunteers should always know how to contact them or you can also appoint a Deputy);

Who can be a deputy designated safeguarding lead?

As ‘Deputy’ Designated Safeguarding Lead you: Should be an experienced member of staff, from the school or college. Must take responsibility for safeguarding and child protection. Should be fully conversant with the SSCB child protection (CP) procedures and take action on child abuse within school.

IMPORTANT:  How do you become a safeguarding officer?

How do you become a designated safeguarding officer?

To be a safeguarding officer, you will also have needed to pass all of the relevant advanced DBS checks to work with children, and have no criminal background or history that prevents you from interacting with young people or vulnerable adults.

What are the 5 R’s of safeguarding?

All staff have a responsibility to follow the 5 R’s (Recognise, Respond, Report, Record & Refer) whilst engaged on PTP’s business, and must immediately report any concerns about learners welfare to a Designated Officer.

What are the 6 principles of safeguarding?

What are the six principles of safeguarding?

  • Empowerment. People being supported and encouraged to make their own decisions and informed consent.
  • Prevention. It is better to take action before harm occurs.
  • Proportionality. The least intrusive response appropriate to the risk presented.
  • Protection. …
  • Partnership. …
  • Accountability.

What are the 4 safeguarding duties?

Work Together to safeguard children • Contribute when required to Child protection process • Keep child focussed • Participation with families • Safeguarding Supervision • Further Safeguarding Training.

Who should be the designated safeguarding lead?

The designated safeguarding lead is the person appointed to take lead responsibility for child protection issues in school. The person fulfilling this role must be a senior member of the school’s leadership team, and the DSL role must be set out in the post holder’s job description.

Who’s responsible for safeguarding?

Local Authorities have statutory responsibility for safeguarding. In partnership with health they have a duty to promote wellbeing within local communities. Cooperate with each of its relevant partners in order to protect adults experiencing or at risk of abuse or neglect.

IMPORTANT:  What are examples of short term marketable securities?

What are the 4 categories of abuse?

The four different main types of child abuse are physical abuse, emotional abuse, neglect, and sexual abuse.

What does a deputy designated safeguarding lead do?

The Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead (DDSL) will assist the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) in all matters of safeguarding and child protection across the school. They may take part in strategy discussions and inter-agency meetings, and contribute to the assessment of children.

Does a designated safeguarding lead have to be a teacher?

The Designated Safeguarding Lead need not be a teacher but must have the status and authority within the management structure to carry out the duties of the post.

What is Level 3 safeguarding?

Safeguarding Children Level 3

Safeguarding Children and Young People covers a wide range of topics including sudden or unexpected death in childhood, parental risk factors, unexplained injuries, disability and neglect, fabricated and induced illness and adolescents presenting with intoxication.

What is Level 4 safeguarding training?

This is an advanced safeguarding training course covering Level 4 knowledge, skills, and competencies through a variety of mediums such as group work, discussion, question & answer, and presentation of key information which can enable processing from a service specific perspective.

How often do you get Level 3 safeguarding?

GPs require level 3 competence.

Over a three-year period, professionals should receive refresher safeguarding children training equivalent to a minimum of 6 hours (for those at Level 3 core this equates to a minimum of 2 hours per annum).