What are the 6 schedules of wildlife protection?

What are the 6 schedule of Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

The specified endemic plants in Schedule VI are prohibited from cultivation and planting. The hunting to the Enforcement authorities have the power to compound offences under this Schedule (i.e. they impose fines on the offenders).

Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972.

The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972
Enacted 9 September 1972
Status: In force

Are monitor lizards Schedule 1?

The monitor lizard (Varanus bengalensis) is a protected species under Schedule I of the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

What wildlife is protected under Wildlife Protection Act?

The Wildlife Protection Act protects all kinds of animals from amphibians to birds, mammals, and reptiles under Section 2(1). The definition is exhaustive and can accommodate a variety of animals within the scope of protection.

What are the main features of Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

The features of Wildlife Protection Act 1972 include establishment of Wildlife Sanctuaries, National Parks. It also includes prohibition on hunting of endangered species and provides licenses for the sale, transfer and possession of the wildlife species.

IMPORTANT:  What was the Consumer Protection Act popularly known as?

What is a Schedule 1 species?

Schedule 1 – Part I. Birds and their young, for which it is an offence to intentionally or recklessly disturb at, on or near an ‘active’ nest: Avocet. Bee-eater.

In which schedule the list of endangered wild animals is given?

​Schedule I

This Schedule covers animals that come under the endangered species.

Is monitor lizard extinct?

Due to illegal poaching monitor lizards have declined in population through out India. Monitor Lizards are an endangered species today and is listed in Schedule I of Indian Wildlife Act.

Under which schedule Russell’s viper included?

Venomous snakes such as King Cobra, Monocled Cobra, Spectacled Cobra and Russell’s Viper are protected by law under Schedule II of the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

Are monitor lizards endangered?

The Act helps to protect the environment from risks associated with the international movement of wildlife. …

What are the objectives of Wildlife Protection Act when was Wildlife Protection Act implemented write its?

The Indian Wildlife Protection Act was implemented in 1972. The main objective of this act is that to protect wild plants and wild animals. According to the Indian Wildlife protection act, the hunting and harming of wild animals are strictly prohibited.

What is stated in section 50 of the wildlife Act 1972?

Section 50 (1) of the Wild Life Protection Act, 1972, empowers any forest officer or any police officer not below the rank of sub – inspector to enter, search, arrest and detention of a person involved in an offence against the Act.

What are the objectives of Wildlife Protection Act 1971?

Objectives of the Wild Life Protection Act:

IMPORTANT:  What is the main function of protective tissue?

To prohibit hunting of wild animals; birds, etc. and impose punishment for violating the same. The schedules give absolute protection to certain species and these cannot be infringed on any account. To provide security to animals that are not in danger of becoming extinct.

Which act is known as umbrella act?

The umbrella act called the Environment (Protection) Act got passed in 1986 encompassing water, air, land and other inter-relationships. The Act identified MoEF as the nodal agency in pollution control.

Which of the following is have been provided for in the Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

Both National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries have been provided for in the Wildlife (Protection ) Act, 1972. The Act provides for four type of protected areas viz. Wildlife Sanctuaries, National Parks, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves.